Author Interview with Coco Nichole

AIRecently I interviewed the published author Coco Nichole! Her book Sun Kissed is a featured story on the Wattpad Fantasy list. It has also been featured on two Diversity YA Lit blogs. She is currently working on the final addition to her Encante Trilogy: Tempestade. Here were the details of the interview:

What sparked your passion for writing? I’ve been passionate about writing for as long as I can remember. Even before I could spell words, I used to make picture books spanning over 100 pages. Nowadays, many things inspire me to write. This includes books, music, nature, and my own imagination.

Who would be your favorite character in your story, and why? That’s a tough one! I guess if I had to narrow it down, my favorite character would be Felipe from my Encante Trilogy. I don’t usually model characters after myself, but Felipe is the exception. He’s quite introverted, but forms close bonds with those who are close to him. He also like to swim, read, and drink tea (all hobbies of mine). And most of all, there is something about him that sets him apart from everyone else. Like Felipe, I often feel like I don’t always fit in with those around me.

What inspired a favorite scene in your book? One of my favorite scenes in my book Jade was inspired by a dream I had. In the dream I was swimming underwater. On the sea floor were sculptures made from coral. One of these coral sculptures was a T-Rex skeleton. That part of the dream was so vivid that I decided to use it in a scene in which my main character is swimming under a floating city.

How did you find out about Wattpad? One of my students told me about it last year. It didn’t take me long to become hooked!

Did you have writer’s block at any time during the writing process? If so, how did you overcome it? To be honest, I don’t really believe in writer’s block. If I really want to write something, I will write it. Sometimes I don’t feel like writing or I get tired of spending time in one of the universes that I’ve created. At which point, I just need a break. The way I deal with this is by bouncing around between my stories. I try to have at least two or three different stories going on so that when I get exhausted from one, I can work on something else and still feel productive.

Have you always wished to be a published author? What were your thoughts when your book was first available for purchase? Yes. I’ve always dreamed of someday publishing my work. When my first novel (Sun Kissed) was available for purchase, it all felt very surreal for me. For the longest time, this story was hanging out on my cloud with only me and a couple of beta readers as an audience. Now it’s officially out there for anyone to read. It’s still hard to believe sometimes.

What are you planning to do next in your writing career? As far as what I plan to do next, I would like to keep being active on wattpad, drafting my stories and getting feedback. I’m also preparing Jade (the sequel to Sun Kissed) for publishing. Lastly, I’m trying to generate as much knowledge and grow my fanbase for Sun Kissed through the use of social media platforms.

Make sure to check out Coco Nichole’s books here: https://www.wattpad.com/user/CocoNichole

And visit her website here: http://coconicholestories.weebly.com/

Leave a Reply

