DIY Characters: Names

file1.jpg

Hello!

This is the second addition in my “DIY” character posts. Today, we’re going to focus a bit on character names. Here are a few questions to get you started:

1. Think about the culture in your world. How would a name relate to that? Is there a strong emphasis on the letter ‘e’ or names that fit in a certain trend or theme?

2. Look to history. Are then any famous places that inspired your tale? Consider putting your own twist on historical figures.

3. Careers are also an important factor to keep in mind when naming a character. If your world is set in a coal mining town, for instance, will the majority of people be named after types of precious stones?

4. Will the name be a reflection of the character or ironic?

These are just a couple things to ponder when naming your character. I’ll continue creating more helpful posts concerning common writing problems. In the meantime, feel free to check out my blog for more interesting tidbits and interviews from fellow authors.

Have a request for a topic? Let me know and I’ll be more than happy to start on it. 🙂

One thought on “DIY Characters: Names

  1. I never thought of it like that. Thank you for the tips, I will use them as I try to refine names for characters in stories I have yet too publish.

    On a slightly different note, I think it would be interesting since you did write a short story involving this, if you talked about using animals as main characters.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

