Author Interview with Amy Leow

AI.jpg

Today you get to see the details of my interview with Wattpad author Amy Leow, also known as Miss Book Nut! Her book Constantine has reached #1 on the Wattpad Fantasy list, is currently a featured story, and has gathered over 500k reads.

When and why did you start writing? Since forever, really. Or more specifically, ever since I learned how to pick up a pencil and paper and realized that I could create fantastical situations of my own. I think when I was younger, I wrote because it was simply a means to fill up my time–a fun means, that is.

 

What hobbies inspire your stories? Reading books? Oh yeah, a real no-brainer. Asides from reading, there’s music. I love listening to epic soundtracks, and could listen to them all day. Sometimes a certain mood of music inspires me to write a certain scene. Then there’s video games. Sadly, I don’t have the money to buy the proper platforms for them, but I do follow Youtube playthroughs (don’t judge). Honestly, their stories can be just as good as any Pulitzer Prize winning book.

 

Who was your favorite character to write, and why? Now that’s a tough question. I find all my characters pretty interesting to write (even if they’re jerks 99% of the time). Mhm, probably Constantine herself from ‘Constantine’. She does contain plenty of me in her, after all. And there’s Lord Himmel and Elise from ‘Song of the Piper’. They’re both super complex enigmas who are so different yet similar. Okay, I cheated. I picked three favorite characters.

 

If you could live anywhere in one of your worlds, where would it be? Gaiatea, the world of Constantine. No contest. Yeah sure, it has ghosts and all, but the other alternative would be monsters lurking at every corner, waiting to rip your guts out. You know what? I don’t think any of the worlds I’ve created are nice places to stay in.

 

Magic is a key topic in your books. If you could have any magical ability, what would it be? Shapeshifting. I’d be able to be anything and everything I want. Besides, if I can truly transform into another person, his/her powers would all be mine. I’m trying hard not to cackle evilly here.

 

When readers finish one of your books, what do you want them to take away from the reading experience? I want them to feel good, first and foremost. I want my story to linger with them, make them think about the messages that I’ve interwoven into the book. If a reader can get away thinking ‘Wow, I’ll never read anything as good as this,’ then I say I’ve succeeded.

 

What steps are you planning to take next in your writing journey? First off, finish the sequel to ‘Constantine’–‘Legacy’. After that, whip my first baby into shape and start querying. After that…we’ll see. It’s still a long road to traditional publishing!

You can find more of Amy Leow’s books here: https://www.wattpad.com/user/MissBookNut

Leave a Reply

